Hall of Fame Class of 2017 – Why They Were Voted In

MLB Hall of Fame Class of 2017

Yesterday the Hall of Fame class of 2017 was made official. Congratulations to Jeff Bagwell, Tim Raines, and Ivan Rodriguez! ┬áThat’s also the order of the most votes. There was 442 ballots submitted and 332 votes were needed to get elected into the 2017 class.

Bagwell: 381 votes, 86.2%

Raines: 380 votes, 86.0%

Rodriguez: 336 votes, 76.0%


Jeff Bagwell (1991-2005)

When the spikes were finally hung up in 2005, Bagwell finished with a .297 career batting average. He also finished with Houston Astros club records of 449 home runs and 1,529 RBI (49th all-time and just eight behind Hall of Famer Joe DiMaggio).

Bagwell ranks 28th all-time with 1,401 walks, and ranks 39th all-time with his .408 on-base percentage. He was also selected to 4 All Star Games, won 3 Silver Slugger Awards and 6 times finished in the top 10 in the National League MVP voting. He was a name to be remembered during his tenure from 1991-2005. Congratulations Bagwell!


Tim Raines (1979-2002)

Raines played for over two decades, 23 years to be exact. He finished his career with a .294 batting average, 2,605 hits and 980 RBI. Raines also ranks 5th all-time with 808 stolen bases. When it was all said and done, Raines finished his big league career with the highest percentage of stolen bases of any player with 400 or more steals. Congratulations Raines, on a great career and making into the Hall of Fame!


Ivan Rodriguez (1991-2011)

Rodriguez, also known as “Pudge”, played 21 seasons in the big leagues. During that time, Pudge racked up 2,844 career hits, which is the most by any player that has caught at least 50 percent of their games behind the plate. Rodriguez finished his career with a .296 batting average, and 311 home runs. He’s ranked 26th all-time with 572 doubles, ranked the best all-time among catchers with 1,354 runs scored, and 5th all-time among catchers with 1,332 RBI. Congratulations on a great career!

Leave a Reply

This blog is kept spam free by WP-SpamFree.