Sporting News Announces Dave Roberts as NL Manager of the Year; Corey Seager as NL Rookie of the Year

Dave Roberts, Corey Seager
Los Angeles Dodgers’ Corey Seager, right, is congratulated by manager Dave Roberts after scoring on a single by Adrian Gonzalez during the first inning of a baseball game against the San Francisco Giants, Wednesday, Sept. 21, 2016, in Los Angeles. (AP Photo/Mark J. Terrill)

Sporting News Announces Dave Roberts Won NL Manager of the Year


Dave Roberts of the Los Angeles Dodgers is Sporting News’ 2016 National League Manager of the Year, as selected by his fellow NL skippers. SN has given Manager of the Year awards since 1936.


Roberts, in his first year as a manager, guided the Dodgers to the NL West title despite a slew of injuries to key players.


Dusty Baker of the Washington Nationals and Joe Maddon of the Chicago Cubs tied for the No. 2 spot in the NL voting, which was conducted before the postseason began.


Roberts replaced Don Mattingly last offseason, becoming the first African-American manager in the Dodgers’ long history. Los Angeles won 91 games despite placing 28 different players on the disabled list, more than any team in the past 30 seasons.


As a result of all the injuries, Roberts made an MLB-record 606 pitching changes in the regular season and used a franchise-record 55 different players.


Roberts joins an impressive duo of Dodger managers to win the SN award: Hall of Famers Leo Durocher (1939) and Walt Alston (1955, 1959, 1963).



National League (voting by NL managers)

  1. Dave Roberts, Los Angeles Dodgers-7

2t. Dusty Baker, Washington Nationals-3

2t. Joe Maddon, Chicago Cubs-3

  1. Terry Collins, New York Mets-1


Sporting News Announces Corey Seager Won NL Rookie of the Year


Los Angeles Dodgers shortstop Corey Seager is Sporting News’ 2016 National League Rookie of the Year, as selected by a panel of 176 NL players. SN has given out Rookie of the Year awards since 1946.


Seager led all major league rookies in games (157), runs (105), hits (193), doubles (40) and walks (54). Additionally, he tied for the most RBIs among MLB rookies (72) and was second in home runs (26).


Overall, the 22-year-old hit .308/.365/.512 for the NL West-winning Dodgers.


Seager won the award in a landslide, earning 143 votes, 128 more than second-place finisher Trea Turner of the Washington Nationals.


Previous Dodgers rookies to be honored by Sporting News include Jackie Robinson (1947), Don Newcombe (1949), Joe Black (1952), Jim Gilliam (1953), Frank Howard (1960), Don Sutton (1966), Rick Sutcliffe (1979), Fernando Valenzuela (1981), Tim Belcher (1988), Eric Karros (1992), Mike Piazza (1993. Raul Mondesi (1994) and Hideo Nomo (1995).



  1. Corey Seager, Los Angeles Dodgers-143
  2. Trea Turner, Washington Nationals-15
  3. Kenta Maeda, Los Angeles Dodgers-6
  4. Trevor Story, Colorado Rockies-5
  5. Seung-hwan Oh, St. Louis Cardinals-3
  6. Aledmys Diaz, St. Louis Cardinals-2

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This blog is kept spam free by WP-SpamFree.